Making Democracy Work

Because democracy is not a spectator sport!

The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization encouraging informed and active participation in government. We influence public policy through education and advocacy.

The latest issue of The VOTER.

Download the latest issue of our newsletter [pdf].

State School Finance Study

Download the State School Finance Study to review prior to the Hot Topic and March study meetings. [It is a large file and may take some time to download.]


March 21. Two documents for the LWVLDC meeting on March 22 to discuss the proposed position on economic and community development. General Principles and Proposed Position

March 16. Here is a link to the news coverage of the March Hot Topic regarding concealed carry on university campuses.

February 20. Please review the report on the League's proposed position on economic and community development [pdf] in advance of the scheduled March 22 discussion.

September 30. If you missed David Burress's presentation one the Leagues's economic development study, or just wish to review the information he presented, you can now download his slideshow here [pdf]!

July 2. If you are looking for links to recent League presentations, including our June Hot Topic with LWVK Legislative Observed Paul Johnson, you can now find them on our Videos, Reports, Minutes page.

June 29. Read LWVK Observer Paul Johnson's latest report on the 2016 session of the Kansas Legislature here.

June 20. We have posted updated information to help the 988 Douglas County voters still on the the Kansas Secretary of State's "Suspense List" complete their registrations. To find out the suspense list and learn how to complete your registration, visit our elections page.

June 9. Read LWV L-DC member Maggie Carttar's letter Real Solution in today's Lawrence Journal-World.

April 22. Read the presentation David Burress planned to present regarding the LWV L-DC Economic Development Study at our 2016 Annual Meeting here.

March 7. Expanding earlier studies of governmental secrecy in Douglas County, League member Alan Cowles has investigated the use of closed meetings by governing bodies statewide. You can find his most recent (2016) summary and the full report on our LWV L-DC Reports and Minutes page.

February 23. Read a nice editorial in support of League in today's Lawrence Journal-World defending League here.

League members hard at work registering voters at a recent event.

October 28, 2015. A plan by the League and several state universities to offer a short course aimed at educating college students about voter registration in Kansas is getting a lot of coverage this week. Read a story about the initiative in the Wichita Eagle here, and an editorial supporting our efforts in the Lawrence Journal-World here.

October 16, 2015. Read a story in the Lawrence Journal-World about League's efforts to register voters here and an editorial praising League's efforts here!

Annual Meeting 2016

Summary of Business Transactions. During the business meeting, the membership:

  • Adopted a budget for the 2016-2017 League year.

  • Elected Co-Presidents Debra Duncan and Marlene Merrill; Secretary Sharon Brown (first year of a two-year term); Treasurer Marjorie Cole (first year of a two-year term); Directors Tamara Cash and Ann Carlin-Ozegovic (each first year of a two-year term); and Nominating Committee, Mary Lou Wright (Chairperson), James Dunn, and Lee Ketzel. Continuing on the Board are Vice-President Cille King and Directors Marlene Merrill, Carol Klinknett, Melissa Wick, Midge Grinstead, Janice Friedman, marci francisco, and Margaret Arnold. There were no nominees for the President Elect.

  • At the local planning meeting there was consensus for carrying the Economic Development and Community Development Study over for one more year. Originally David Burress, chair, was slated to give an update at the beginning of the annual meeting on this committee's work but due to time constraints his presentation will be made at a later date. It was moved and seconded to accept the recommendation to carry the study over for one more year.

  • Consensus was to update the 1971 LWV-L/DC position on local transportation with a particular focus on the location of the hub and transportation for the elderly and people with disabilities. It was moved and seconded to adopt this study for 2016-2018.